Qualifications for an Ohio Instructor’s License

Ohio law requires completion of a 12th grade education to obtain an instructor’s license. Include a copy
of your high school diploma or high school transcript indicating completion and graduation dates, GED
certificate or college transcript.

You are required to provide your full manager’s identification number (ID#) on page two (2) of this
application. The manager’s ID# including the letters preceding the number is located on the front of
your current, active manager’s license.

The applicant must complete all sections of page 2. Enclose one, recent photograph, approximately
21/2” by 3 1/2” and submit a $45 check or money order made payable to: Treasurer, State The

applicant is responsible for having this part of the application notarized and your signature must be
signed in front of the notary public.

The salon owner or salon manager must complete all sections of page 3. The owner or manager is
responsible for having this part of the application notarized and the signature must be signed in front of
the notary public.

An instructor’s license allows you to work in an OHIO COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL ONLY.

1. An applicant for a cosmetology instructor’s license must hold a current, active Ohio managing
cosmetology license and have worked as a cosmetologist in a licensed beauty salon for one full year,
equal to 2000 hours or have completed a 1000 hour cosmetology instructor’s course in an Ohio
cosmetology school.

2. An applicant for a manicurist instructor’s license must hold a current, active Ohio managing
manicurist’s license and have worked as a manicurist in a licensed nail salon or beauty salon for one full
year, equal to 2000 hours or have completed a 300 hour manicurist instructor’s course in an Ohio
cosmetology school.

3. An applicant for an esthetic instructor’s license must hold a current, active Ohio managing
esthetician’s license and have worked as an esthetician in a licensed esthetic or beauty salon for one full
year, equal to 2000 hours or have completed a 500 hour esthetic instructor’s course in an Ohio
cosmetology school.

4. An applicant for a natural hair stylist instructor’s license (hair braider) must hold a current, active
Ohio managing natural hair stylist’s license and have worked as a natural hair stylist in a licensed
natural hair stylist salon, a licensed hair design salon or a licensed beauty salon for one full year, equal
to 2000 hours or have completed a 400 hour natural hair stylist instructor’s course in an Ohio
cosmetology school.

5. An applicant for a hair designer instructor’s license (hair only) must hold a current, active Ohio
managing hair designer’s license and have worked as a hair designer in a licensed hair designer salon or
a licensed beauty salon for one full year, equal to 2000 hours or have completed an 800 hour hair
designer instructor’s course in an Ohio cosmetology school.

Please check only one of the following types of instructor’s license application for which you are
applying (a separate application must be completed for each type of instructor’s license).

___| Cosmetology Instructor | [Manicurist Instructor |__|Esthetic Instructor
___INatural Hair Stylist Instructor ___|Hair Designer Instructor
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THE OHIO STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY

1929 Gateway Circle Grove City, Ohio 43123
Phone: (614) 466-3834 Fax: (614) 644-6880 www.cos.ohio.gov

EXAM: $ 45.00

PLEASE MAKE CHECK or MONEY ORDER

MADE PAYABLE TO: TREASURER, STATE OF OHIO
CASH WILL BE RETURNED.

INSTRUCTOR LICENSE APPLICATION BASED ON WORK EXPERIENCE

FULL NAME LAST FIRST MIDDLE MAIDEN

ADDRESS STREET CITY STATE ZIP COUNTY
HOME TELEPHONE NUMBER (AREA CODE) SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

DATE OF BIRTH MONTH DAY YEAR SEX

COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL ATTENDED OHIO MANAGAING LICENSE ID# (Required)
ADDRESS STREET CITY STATE ZIP

Affidavit - This Section Must be Notarized
STATE OF
COUNTY SS: Must submit one recent photo of
| hereby swear, or affirm, that the statements on this record are true and | @pplicant with this  application.
accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief . Photo should be approximately
2.5" x 3.5", with a full-face view.
The photo will be stamped/sealed
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT (Must be signed in front of Notary) and returned for identification
Subscribed in my presence and sworn to before me this day |Purposes and must be displayed
of 20 with license.
NOTARY .
Please print your name and
SEAL — — _ Board ID# on back of photo.
NOTARY PUBLIC (Commission expiration date required)

A copy of driver’s license or State ID with picture is required.

Amount Received $




Certification of One Year’s Work Experience for Instructor’s License

Documentation of one year’s work experience must be verified by your employer (s). If you have worked for two or
more employers, please have each employer complete the form below to substantiate one year’s work experience (equal
to 2000 hours). Part time can be counted for only those hours actually worked. Each signature must be notarized to
verify one year’s work experience. Time accumulated on a work permit does not count toward the one year’s work
experience. If you were self-employed or if your previous employer is no longer in business, you must obtain notarized
statements from two patrons on whom you performed cosmetology services to substantiate your full year’s work
experience. (The patron may use this form; salon ID # and address are not required.)

I, (Salon Owner/Manager/Patron) hereby swear or affirm
(name and Ohio ID# of employee) has been in my employ from
Month/Date/Year / / to Month/Date/Year (“Present” is not acceptable) / /

Name of Salon Salon Identification Number

Address, City, State and Zip Code

Affidavit - This Section Must be Notarized
State of Ohio

County SS:

I swear or affirm that all information contained in this application and the documents attached are true and accurate to the best of my
knowledge and belief.

Signature of Owner/Manager/Patron (Must be signed in front of the notary)

Subscribed in my presence and sworn to before me this day of 20

Notary Seal

(Notary Public—Commission Expiration Date is Required)

I, (Salon Owner/Manager/Patron) hereby swear or affirm
(Name and Ohio ID# of employee) has been in my employ from
Month/Date/Year / / to Month/Date/Year (“Present” is not acceptable) / /

Name of Salon Salon Identification Number

Address, City, State and Zip Code

Affidavit - This Section Must be Notarized
State of Ohio

County SS:

I swear or affirm that all information contained in this application and the documents attached are true and accurate to the best of my
knowledge and belief.

Signature of Owner/Manager /Patron (Must be signed in front of the notary)

Subscribed in my presence and sworn to before me this day of 20

Notary Seal

(Notary Public—Commission Expiration Date is Required)
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